Teamwork! Teamwork! Comeone guys, teamwork!

Posted: December 4, 2011 in PC Gaming
Tags: , , , ,

So, I’m playing Battlefield 3 today, on one of my regular servers that I visit when there’s no one on ours, and I was blown away at how anti-teamwork my team was.  Granted, I’m used to lack of teamwork in Battlefield games.  It has been that way for awhile, even in Battlefield 2 to an extent, but today it went above and beyond.  Here we are, losing the match, no one is capturing flags, people are just sitting or hiding, and generally playing more like it’s Team Deathmatch instead of an objective based capture the flag match.  So, I ask my squad to start spawning on me (I was squad leader), and I get back “You are just sitting back and sniping, what do you need us for?”  Well, I had been running at flags the entire map, trying to capture them.  This bozo just saw that my kit was sniper, not that I was running close combat sniper, so I told him I was trying to capture flags.  My squad actually spawned on me, once, and we almost had a flag, but then they respawned all over the map and went back to their individual game.  All except one, the other two got kicked right after that.  Would rather run solo than with a squad of ‘me’ players.

So now it’s just me and one other guy, who is trying, spawning on me, and generally working together to capture flags.  A couple more join the squad, and I ask them to spawn with me and help.  One says “No” to which I reply “Then find a different squad.”  He said “OK” but never left, I booted him too.  The other guy in my squad, one of the new ones, proceeds to team kill me, completely intentionally.  I’m guessing because I had the audacity to ask him to help his team and squad.  We lost that match, and pretty much every match after, mainly due to lack of teamwork.  Teamwork is really the key to winning these matches.  This isn’t Call of Duty, though I’m beginning to think that the time between a real Battlefield game and this one has been too long.  Too many went to other games like Call of Duty, where teamwork isn’t as highly valued, and people play for their own points and achievements.  In those games, there’s no benefit to teamwork.  You don’t get extra points for helping your team, all your points come from getting as many kills as possible before the map ends.

In Battlefield 3, a squad’s members will average far more points if they are working together.  If the squad leader is calling out flags to take, the supply is throwing down ammo, the medic is getting medpacks out, and the sniper is tossing out sensors and spawn beacons.  All four members of that squad will come away from the match with far more points than they would if they were all doing their own thing.  You also stand a better chance of winning the match, especially if all the squads on your team do this.  I watch a team dominate map after map, if they have squads that work together, and they get far more intense if both teams are doing this.  Sadly those are few and far between.

I’ll keep pushing for my server to institute a rule that used to exist on a lot of BF2 servers.  Texas Team Players, for example, had a couple of strict rules that kept me coming back.  Squad leaders must do their jobs, call out objectives, and basically lead.  Squad members must follow the squad leader’s commands, work together, and if you didn’t do either, you got booted.  Finally, anyone not in a squad on TTP, was kindly asked to ‘Squad up!’, and if they didn’t then were shown the door.  This isn’t COD folks.  If this is your first Battlefield game, I can cut you some slack, but try to learn how this type of game works.  If you are from a battlefield background, and you still don’t use teamwork, then I have no qualms about calling you a nub.  Get with the program, squad up, work together.  Trust me, you’ll find that your stats go up much faster, and you will have more fun.

Leave a Reply

