March’s gamer lady of the month

Posted: March 20, 2012 in Gamer Lady of the Month
Tags: , ,

All right, in the spirit of getting caught up finally, here, ladies and gentlemen, is your Gamer Lady of March!  Felicia is a fantastic roleplayer, and friend, that I’ve known for a few months now.  I met her on a Neverwinter Nights 2 server awhile back, and have since had great game time, and fun conversations with her.  She’s always amazed me with how much she does in her personal life with school, and still having time to pack in the gaming hours.  An all around, true gamer, having experience on multiple consoles as well as PC games, and a laundry list of game titles under her belt.  Relax guys, she’s taken so don’t flood my email with requests for her number, ain’t gonna happen.  Now, without further ado, here are her thoughts on the world of gaming and being a female in it.  Oh, here and there I will pepper the answers with bracketed explanations of the acronyms.

Q: What’s your gamertag?

Typically the gamer tag I use is drfelly… That’s my gamer tag on xbox, PS3, Neverwinter Nights 2, etc. I also will sometimes use the gamer tag BipolarPrincess.

Q: Gamer guild/clan affiliation?

Hmm, I think the closest to a guild or clan affiliation I guess would be the original Eilistraeens from the DLB [Dalelands Beyond] server on NWN 2 [Neverwinter Nights 2].

Q: Console or PC?

Since my favorite gaming is MMORPGs [Massively Multiplayer Online Roleplaying Games], I have to say PC. However, when it comes to single player games I prefer the PS3. I absolutely love the Assassin’s Creed series and Elder Scrolls.

Q: When did you start gaming?

When I was a kid, I grew up with Nintendo. It wasn’t until high school that I tried my first MMORPG. It was called “Nexus the Kingdom of Winds”. I got really into that game and it made me curious to try new MMORPGs. After Nexus I tried Diablo II, once again I found it to be too much fun. Naturally I jumped through many of the major MMORPGs including World of Warcraft and Final Fantasy XI Online. I jumped through some pretty bad (in my opinion) ones like Runescape, Dungeons and Dragons Online, etc.

Q: What got you started in the world of gaming?

I spent the summer vacation, before my freshmen year of high school, hanging out on my cousin’s dairy farm in upstate New York. She and I are similar in age so we spent most of our time together. She was really into Nexus TK at the time and convinced me to make a “newb”. It wasn’t long before I found myself lost in the wonderful world of make pretend while also being able to socialize with people all over the country and around the world.

Q: Favorite game?

Currently my favorite game is Neverwinter Nights 2 hands down…. If we’re talking MMORPGs. If we just consider RPGs in general I’m going to have to go with Final Fantasy… I love the Final Fantasy series. My favorite is Final Fantasy IV… that one takes me back to my childhood.

Q: Currently Playing?

Let’s break this down by system. On the PC, it’s Neverwinter Nights 2. In my Nintendo DS is currently Plants vs. Zombies. On my PSP is Final Fantasy Tactics. In my PS3 is currently Skyrim (I just beat Assassin’s Creed Revelations and have moved on to Skyrim). In my Xbox 360, that’s Oblivion. As for my Wii, Zelda Skyward Sword.

Q: Most anticipated future release?

Assassin’s Creed 3… I can’t help how much I love the series.

Q: Build your own or off-the-shelf pc?

My current laptop is off the shelf but I grew up with all of my PCs built specially for me by my Uncle.

Q: Favorite game type?

If the rest of the questionnaire hadn’t answered this question already, I’ll tell you again. It’s RPGs by far.

Q: Do you think there are any issues related to being a female gamer, bias, unwanted attention, etc?

Yes and no. I’ve noticed that in some online roleplaying games, guys nearly wet themselves the moment they realize it’s a girl on the other side of the screen. That’s a bit of an exaggeration but it does get a little ridiculous sometimes. You find that characters that might have normally ignored your character ICly [In Characterly {I know, it’s not a word*}] are now giving your character extra attention. It’s not always bad for the female gamers. I know it’s far easier for me to get free stuff from guys in game then it is for one of my male friends to get free stuff. If you’re a girl gamer and you really don’t want a lot of extra attention, my suggestion is to make your username seem very ambiguous about your gender and maybe even consider creating a guy character. Also, if you think you’re being harassed by another player, do not be afraid to let the server admin know what’s up. You don’t have to deal with it.

*In Characterly or ICly refers to state in which stuff happens in RPGs, when players act as their characters.  In this case DrFelly is referring to a phenomenon we all notice when players realize a female is behind the character.  Where it would normally be IC for a character to ignore one of hers, that character suddenly finds a reason to interact with her own once the player finds out DrFelly is a lady.

So there you have it ladies and gentlemen, my good friend, and great gamer DrFelly.  If anyone would like to nominate a gamer chick they know for future columns, please email me at magus_taliesin@hotmail.com, drop me a pic if they want one posted, and a brief write-up on why you think they should be Frags and Beer’s gamer lady of the month.  Don’t be shy, eventually I’m going to run out of the ones I know, though for now I would like to showcase the ladies that I game with so hey, for a little while it’s no big deal.  Until next time, have fun.

UPDATE:  Felicia has started a blog and I have to say it’s great.  Wonderful prose, powerful story, and hopefully will help others and her.  Please check it out and give her your support.  Check out The Rollercoaster!

Comments
  1. Wow great minds think alike! Glad to see other sites doing the same thing ❤ Thank you for this wonderful interview!

    • xamotdb says:

      Thanks for stopping by, that was fast 😉
      This was something I wanted to do since about October or November last year but with all I have going on with school and all I got behind. Started in January with it and have been trying to keep up. Got my April lady lined up just gotta get her the questions. Hope you enjoy the rest of the blog, thankfully I’ve had a storm of ideas so should have several posts on the way in the next few days.

Leave a Reply

