Late to the party reviews: The Avengers

Posted: May 14, 2012 in Late to the Party Reviews
Tags: , , ,

I think I’m like a lot of people, who don’t always have to be first to the movies, or wait in line for that book release.  I don’t really like a full theater, long lines, or talking people and screaming children.  I just find it too distracting from the experience, and since I know I’m not the only one, I decided to turn this into a regular feature.  Giving you all a review of something I think is worth reviewing, after all the hype, hooplah, and speculation is over.  Maybe it will help you decide which movie to go see on the third week after release, or which book to buy a year after it’s out, or even an anime you didn’t know about that’s a couple years old.  So, here we go.  My first Late to the Party Review:  Marvel’s The Avengers.

Let me start by saying, I’m not overly critical of movies.  If I’m entertained for a couple of hours, then it did its job, and I’m happy.  However, there are times when I’m simply blown away enough to talk a movie up more than “It was good”.  This movie was one of them.  At first, when I heard of this movie, I was concerned like I’m sure a lot of people were.  How were they going to get all of these characters in a movie, and not make it look like a fight scene montage?  How would the get enough character development into them, in one film, and still give us a story that we would be interested in?  Well, Joss Whedon delivered on all counts.

There was a great amount of character depth in this movie, exploring their backgrounds a little, and their own inner thoughts.  Each character seemed unique, and true to the lore that came before.  I loved how they all had very human qualities, despite the fact that they were super beings.  It’s an easy, and honestly lazy, trap to fall into to make a super hero movie where they are always perfect, always super.  This is not one of those movies.

I believe Joss has an advantage over many writers, being a comic writer himself, but that isn’t meant to downplay his ability at all.  He just knew the right amount of humor, action, story, and pacing that comic fans expect.  All that said he also delivered a movie the general audience could get into without ‘dumbing it down’ for non-comic book fans.  He didn’t shy away from the extraordinary, but delivered it without the campiness that we’ve come to expect from comic book movies that deal with aliens or super villains.

I could probably go on for a long time about this movie, but I don’t want to give away too much.  I just have to say it has the full package as far as I’m concerned.  If you haven’t seen it yet, and you like action movies with good story, you should see this one.  If you have already seen it, go see it again, I know for myself I want to see it again.  In a movie with so much going on, I’m sure I missed a lot as far as the little details go.  Definitely looking forward to the next installment.

Comments
  1. Tomax says:

    I just saw the Avengers in 3D. It was definitely worth the extra bills for this one.

  2. Julie says:

    Funnier than a bag of cats!

Leave a Reply

