End of DayZ Journal ep. 1

Posted: June 19, 2012 in PC Gaming
Tags: , , , ,
Here they come!

Borrowed from DayZ

I started playing this game a couple of days ago…well this mod to an already popular FPS game.  It’s a zombie survival mod for the game Arma II, and so far I’m impressed.  It is still in the alpha stage, so there are a lot of rough spots, but overall the game is fun, and the vision is amazing.  Let’s just say, I hate most zombie mods for FPS games because they are too boring, too much like an arcade game.  This one…well it’s like playing fallout, with Arma II graphics and controls, and with your own story.  I would normally do a review, but there is just too much, and it’s way too early to give it a fully fleshed out review.  I’ll just leave you with a couple of links and an experiment.

First, the links.  DayZ is the mod, and you can get your hands on all the official information here.  There is also a ton of great information at the wiki, including guides for new players, and quick reference for vets.

Now for the experiment.  I’m a writer, and that’s something you have to practice at.  This blog is part of that, but I also like to do short stories in between bursts of working on my novel.  I figured, what better way to get people interested in this game than to write a pseudo in-character journal for my game persona?  So, here goes.

End of DayZ Journal:  Callsign XamotDB

Incarnation 01, Day 01

Washed up on beach, disoriented and lost.  Ran along water until I came to a dock.  That’s when I saw them.  Walkers and crawlers, they didn’t seem to like the dock.  Nowhere to go so I searched the crane.  No supplies, no weapons, still surrounded.

Led them to the side of the dock, then hid until they wandered off.  Made a dash for a building, spotted – no supplies, no weapons, no exit.  They’re coming…

Survival time: @ 1 hr

Incarnation 02, Day 01

Finally climbed out of the sea onto a dock.  Could see a few walkers.  I moved slow so they could not see me.

Another survivor, running, drawing their attention.  He said to just run so we made for a warehouse – they can climb ladders.

Got out and onto a roof – let the other guy keep going and draw them away – I was bleeding and passed out.

Came to on the roof.  Other guy was dead – walkers gone.  Climbed down and searched the neighborhood.

Found a dead man in a booth – took food, flares and ammo.  Also found a flash light.  In a house at end of street found food, and a crossbow with three bolts.  Good weapon – no sound.

Decided not to press my luck and headed for the hills to a farm house – need to find a safe place to sleep.  Is there such a thing?


Well, I hope you enjoyed that little snippet.  It’s not much now, I’ll probably wait until I have more entries next time.  As I said, this is just an experiment so who knows how long it will go on.  If I get a lot of positive feedback I will try to keep it rolling as long as possible.  Stay tuned.

Comments

Leave a Reply

