I know this one is late, but better late than never right?  This month a gamer I’ve know for a few years has gotten back in touch and I thought she would be perfect for this feature.  I first met her back on a NWN2 server called The Frontier Reborn, and there learned that she’s also into FPS games, and other RPGs and MMOs.  Her roleplay was great on TFR and her passion for gaming matches any I’ve seen in any other gamer.  Another perfect example that female gamers are out there, and they are into more than just the cutesy games for kids and families.  So, without further ado, here are Janet’s thoughts.

Q. What is your Gamertag?

NWN1: TundraGrrl
NWN2: Pleiades (my favorite star cluster)

Q. We are getting a lot of viewers outside the U.S. If you don’t mind everyone knowing, what country do you hail from?

 United States

Q. Gamer guild/clan affiliation?

None

Q. Console or PC?

PC! Sucker for great graphics engines and the ability to RP

Q. When did you start gaming?

7 or 8, but I recall playing my cousins Atari before then and thinking Pong was mind blowing

Q. What got you started in the world of gaming?

I was a kid when Nintendo first came out, Zelda was my passion.  Gameboy, thing was a brick but seemed like a technological wonder at the time, complete with bulky snap on light for sneaking in a dozen games of Tetris after the official bedtime. When I was 14 I took a college class and got my first 2400 bit/s modem, there was no internet as we know it today but I found I could use the university system to ‘telnet’ into servers called MUDs (Multi User Domains) and play in a text based game world consisting of only a black and white screen (descriptive words to paint the world around you), navigating using N, S, W, E.  I stumbled upon a RP MUD and fell in love immediately.  I  became a DM/writer there and played it well past the first popular MMORPGs. My first RP game with computer generated imagery was NWN1 and I was beside myself.

Q. Favorite game?

Very difficult question!  For blowing things up I absolutely loved playing Borderlands with friends, for RP it has to be NWN 1 & 2

Q. Currently playing? 

The Elder Scrolls Skyrim,  Team Fortress 2 Co-op, Portal 2, NWN1 & 2.  It takes me awhile to get through games now with less free time, I light up like a kid when I get a new one.

Q. Most anticipated future release?

Borderlands 2, I still smile every time I hear the song ‘Ain’t no rest for the wicked’

Q. Build your own or off-the-shelf PC? Any reason for preference?

Built it.  Really like to tinker and to tell the truth…I am stoked when a machine dies so I can put on my headlamp and build it faster, stronger!

Q. Favorite game type?

Immersive RP/Action

Q. Do you think there are any issues related to being a female gamer?

Not so much now, in fact it seems being a geek is very *in* now days, with women proudly labeling themselves.  Even my mom is calling herself a geek and I just recently taught her how to move photos from her camera to the computer!  When I first started gaming, spending time on a PC put you into a very misunderstood minority group.  The geeky computer guys in school had their place where they belonged and everyone seemed to think they were wizards of legend, but as a female teenager with cute cheerleader friends I was the odd duck out and they just didn’t “get it”.  Parents were the opposite of supportive.  Later when I moved and landed a tech job in Silicon Valley I had this surreal moment when my dad said to me “well I guess all that time on the computer paid off!”
So, there you have it ladies and gents.  If you happen to run into her out there, keep your wits about you, she knows what’s she’s doing around a keyboard!  Stay tuned for our first official event as press attendees to Gen Con Indy and much more.  If you know anyone that would be a good addition to this monthly feature definitely have them get in touch with us a magus_taliesin@hotmail.com.  We’ll be seeing you soon.
Leave a Reply

